On Thursday, March 30th the North Carolina General Assembly voted to repeal HB2 and Governor Cooper signed the billed.

HB142 Did the following:

  • Repealed HB2, the Public Facilities Privacy and Security Act, which removed any municipal anti-discrimination clauses and mandated that in government buildings people must use the bathroom or changing facility corresponding to the sex on their birth certificates.
  • The new law prohibits any municipality from enacting or amending any “ordinance regulating private employment practices or regulating public accommodations” until December 1, 2020.
  • The law forever forbids government entities from enacting rules on multiple-occupancy bathrooms, showers and changing rooms unless it’s “in accordance with an act of the General Assembly.”
  • The bill signed tonight has no severability clause, meaning if parts of the law was deemed to be illegal or otherwise unenforceable by the courts, the entire law would be stricken and therefore HB2 Public Faculties Privacy and Security Act would automatically be re-instated as law in North Carolina.

How will North Carolina differ from most states? It won’t. North Carolina now will be in line with federal regulations and a majority of other states. Only 19 states protect both public and private employees on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity, according to the American Civil Liberties Union. Another three protect employees based on sexual orientation.


Senate Vote on HB142 (Repeal of HB2)

Democrat Senator(s): Blue; Bryant; Clark; Ford; Lowe; Robinson; Smith-Ingram; Van Duyn; Waddell

Republican Senator(s): Alexander; Barringer; Berger; Britt; Brown; Curtis; Daniel; J. Davis; Dunn; Edwards; Gunn; B. Jackson; Krawiec; Lee; McInnis; Newton; Pate; Rabon; Tarte; Tillman; Tucker; Wade; Wells

Democrat Senator(s): Chaudhuri; D. Davis; Foushee; J. Jackson; McKissick; Woodard
Republican Senator(s): Bishop; Brock; Cook; Harrington; Hise; Horner; Meredith; Rabin; Randleman; Sanderson

Exc. Absence:
Democrat Senator(s): None
Republican Senator(s): Ballard; Barefoot

House Vote on HB142 (Repeal of HB2)

Democrat Representative(s): Adcock; Ager; Alexander; Ball; Belk; L. Bell; Carney; Cunningham; Duane Hall; Earle; Farmer-Butterfield; Floyd; Garrison; Gill; Goodman; C. Graham; G. Graham; Hanes; Holley; Hunter; Jackson; John; Lucas; Michaux; Pierce; B. Richardson; W. Richardson; Terry; Willingham; Wray

Republican Representative(s): Adams; J. Bell; Blust; Bradford; Brawley; Brenden Jones; Burr; Clampitt; Corbin; Davis; Dixon; Dollar; Dulin; Faircloth; Fraley; Grange; Hardister; Hastings; Horn; Johnson; Jordan; Lambeth; Lewis; Malone; S. Martin; McGrady; T. Moore (SPEAKER); Murphy; Riddell; Rogers; Ross; Saine; Sauls; Stevens; Stone; Szoka; Watford; Williams; Yarborough; Zachary

Democrat Representative(s): Autry; Beasley; Black; Brisson; Brockman; Butler; Fisher; Harrison; Insko; Lehman; G. Martin; Meyer; Quick; Reives; B. Turner

Republican Representative(s): Arp; Bert Jones; Blackwell; Boles; Boswell; Brody; Bumgardner; Cleveland; Collins; Conrad; Destin Hall; Dobson; Elmore; Ford; K. Hall; Henson; Howard; Hurley; McElraft; McNeill; Millis; Pittman; Potts; Presnell; Setzer; Shepard; Speciale; Steinburg; Strickland; Torbett; R. Turner; Warren; White

Exc. Absence:
Democrat Representative(s): R. Moore
Republican Representative(s): Iler